Re-Engineering my Workspace…

When I was young, October was in Winter. But since 6-7 years ago, for some reason, it is in Raining Season.

It is raining like cat and dog Bangkok these day. I’m afraid of flood. When it rains hard, I’ll have too shutdown my computer and find something else to do. Yeah… today it rains very hard.

Thanks to the rain, I decide to clean up my computer and my comp. desk. To tell the truth, I can’t remember when I do it last time.

There’s an extremely HUGE amount of dust in the case. But frankly, there’s not much on the desk. However, it tooks me around 3 hours to clean up and rearrange my desk.

I’m not sure if it’s because I study in process improvement too much or not. But I find out that the way I place things on my desk is very inefficient for cleaning. Even though it enables me to access every things on my desk very fast.

If I have a camera, I’d have attached photos in this blog and explain every thing. But since I have none, I’ll just give you an advice, “Think in many dimensions when you layout your workspace, one with the fastest access isn’t always the best layout”.

After cleaning and re-arranging, I have got a lot of junks. Most of them are CDs which I still have no idea what to do with them. (May be I will attach them together to make a frisbee, if I have a place to play) Some are used papers and documents. The most useful things I found two shock-absorbing foam in the sound card box.

I was thinking about making a box for my new external harddisk. Since I’m very clumsy, I’m quite sure I’ll break it soon. So I use one of the shock-absorber and a A4 hard paper to make one….It took me another hour.

Normally, I hate sort of DIY stuffs. (If you study in Thai since you’re young, you’ll know why😛 ) May be the effect after creativity project presentation yesterday is the cause.

Again, I really want to show you but I don’t have a camera. To see my handmade ext. harddisk box, you’ll have to go to Proteus Technology office in Thailand. Because I’m going to have an internship there through out this October !!!

  1. #1 by dark on October 7, 2008 - 9:12 am

    wish you good luck in your internship🙂

  2. #2 by ijemmy on October 7, 2008 - 2:36 pm

    Thank you. This is my first day of internship. It’s very good.

Leave a Reply

