Dead Poet Society (Creative Blog#21)

I know that my English is dreadful, and when I write blog in English… no one read it – -”

Anyway, that doesn’t matter. I’ll keep blogging in English since there are very few way to improve my writing skill 😛

In last creativity class, Ajarn Thongchai letted us watch “Dead Poet Society”. If you like drama or you’re  teenager (please don’t lie to yourself), I really recommend you to watch it.

By recommending you to watch, I have no right to spoil it to you guys. So, what I am going to blog to day is not really about Dead Poet Society, it’s my feeling after I’ve watched it.

Of course, I was touched. (Even not as much as Wall-E, but look at when this movie is made) But when I started asking myself “Which scene I like the most” or sort of this question, I can’t answer…

Every part in the movie is simple, realistic (or quite realistic), and has well reason. None of them is outstanding.   (Except the last scene, but I’m not going to spoil, right?😀 )

This means good movies don’t really need special effect or extreme scene. The important thing is the plot.

At this point, as a programmer, I asked myself again that can we have an exact procedure (or algorithm) to analyze the interesting of movie?

No, that is not a good question. I will ask ” How can we do that?” instead.

The first method came to my mind is artificial neural network.

Since the idea is to mimics human brain, it should be good idea to use it analyzing something that’s related to emotion.

No, this question is not good enough also. I will ask “Ten ways to do that” instead.

The next idea is to recognize the pattern of movie.

I’ve ever read that good pattern of action movie should be  9-8-10

9 means “exciting opening scene”
8 means “less exciting but still good scenes to develop the movie”
10 means “climax of this movie”

Good example of these kinds of movie is James Bonds 007. (I’m talking about different climax, you know)

If we can transform movie plot into some kind of representative data and process it with data mining, we can evaluate the plot.

Right now, I’m coming with better ideas, there are eight more left…

  1. #1 by dark on September 10, 2008 - 5:22 pm

    I’m following your every post, though you may not know.

    please keep writing🙂

  2. #2 by ijemmy on September 11, 2008 - 8:54 am

    Oh , what a lovely monkey =P

  3. #3 by tot-anusak on September 11, 2008 - 10:26 am

    No one commenting your blogs doesn’t mean no one reading your blogs.
    Sometimes I read blog without comment, or sometimes I have some but I think I shouldn’t post them.

  4. #4 by chakrit on September 16, 2008 - 8:45 pm

    Emotion seems more like a state machine to me.

Leave a Reply

